Sharing Rules in Salesforce


Sharing rules in Salesforce are used to create automatic exceptions to the Organization-Wide Default settings for the users who do not own the record.

They should be applied to the objects whose org-wide defaults are set to Public Read-only or Private because sharing rules can only extend the access they cannot restrict the access provided by Organization-wide defaults.


There are 2 types of Sharing Rules in Salesforce based on which records to be shared:

1. Owner Based:

Owner based shares the records owned by certain users. Owners can be identified through public groups, roles and roles, and sub-ordinates.

2. Criteria Based:

Criteria based shares the records that meet certain criteria.


Before creating them, administrators need to answer these 3 questions:

1. Share which records?

This identifies the records that need to be shared. They can be categorized based on the owner of the records or the criteria that records met.

2. With whom the records need to be shared?

Records can be shared with public groups, roles, and roles & subordinates.

3. What kind of access should be provided for these records?

The users with whom the records are shared should have Read-Only or Read/Write access is decided by this question.



  • As they cannot restrict access this is the reason it gives Read-Only and Read/Write as access parameters in sharing rules.
  • They work best when they are defined for a particular group of users that can be determined or predicted in advance rather than a set of users that frequently changes.

Here’s a link for Manual Sharing.

Our Recent Blog

Share This Post