What Is Queues In Salesforce?
Salesforce Queues are a collection of records that don’t have any owner. Users who have access to the queue can examine every record that is in it and claim ownership of the ones they want. Queues in Salesforce help to prioritize, distribute, and assign records to teams who share workloads.
Queues are traditionally used in sales and support organizations to distribute new leads and support cases to the employees who have the most availability because the platform natively supports queues for leads, cases, service contracts, and any custom objects.
Records can be added to the Queue manually by changing the record’s owner. Also, assignment rules can add cases or lead to a queue based on criteria. Records remain in a queue until they are assigned an owner or a queue member volunteers to own them. Any queue member or user higher in the role hierarchy can take ownership of records in a queue.
Users of a Queue can be changed by
2. The person with “Manage [Object Name]” permission privileges
OWD For The Objects And Its record In Queues
The OWD sharing model for an object determines the access users have to that object’s records in queues.
1. Public Read/Write/Transfer
Users can view & take ownership of records from any queue.
2. Public Read/Write or Public Read-Only
Users can view any queue but only take ownership of records from the queue of which they are a member or depending on the sharing setting if they are higher in a role hierarchy than a queue member.
Users can only view and accept records from Queues of which they are members or depending on sharing settings if they are higher in the role hierarchy than a queue member.
- Regardless of the sharing model users must have edit permissions to take ownership of records in queues of which they are the member.
- Admin, users with “Modify All” object-level permission for the respective object and users with “Modify All Data” permission can view and take records from any queue regardless of the sharing model or their membership in the queue.
- Before deleting a queue, reassign its records to another owner and remove it from any assignment rules.