Control Access To The Organization
Access to an organization (Salesforce User Management) can be restricted by four means:
- Allowing only authorized users to access Salesforce
- Setting Password Policies
- Restricting IP ranges for Users
- Restricting Login Hours for Users
What Is User Management In Salesforce ?
A user is anyone who logs in to Salesforce. Users are employees in your organization. Every user in Salesforce has a user account. The user account identifies the user, and the account settings determine what features and records the user can access.
Each user account contains at least the following:
It must be unique across all Salesforce organizations(instances).
It determines which features the user can access in Salesforce. For example, you can allow users access to standard Salesforce features and Chatter with the standard Salesforce license. But, if you want to grant a user to access only some features in Salesforce, you have a host of licenses to choose from. For example, if you have to grant a user access to Chatter without allowing them to see any data in Salesforce, you can give them a Chatter Free license.
It determines what users can do in Salesforce. Profiles should be selected based on a user’s job function.
It determines what additional access a user has in Salesforce based on where they are located in the role hierarchy. These are optional but each user can have only one role assigned.
An alias is a short name to identify the user on list pages, reports, or other places where their entire name doesn’t fit. By default, the alias is the first letter of the user’s first name and the first four letters of their last name.
Example: a user with the name ‘Rohan Sharma’ will have the alias ‘Rshar’
User records in Salesforce can’t be deleted, they can only be deactivated or frozen.
Difference Between Deactivating And Freezing A User
|Deactivate a User||Freeze a User|
|Users cannot be deleted so to stop the user from logging in to the Salesforce organization administrators need to deactivate them.||A user cannot be deactivated immediately when a user is selected in a custom hierarchy field. So to prevent the user from login into the organization while administrators perform the steps to deactivate them, they can simply freeze that user first.|
|Deactivating the user frees up the license assigned to the user. So that now new users can use that license to access Salesforce platform features.||The license assigned to the user does not free by Freezing a user.|